Tiverton Library Services belongs to the statewide Ocean State Libraries (OSL). When you get an OSL library card, you can use it in over 50 public libraries throughout the state of Rhode Island.
LIBRARY POLICIES may vary at each Ocean State Libraries (OSL) library. Members of OSL reserve the right to deny check-out privileges to anyone who has overdue library material from any OSL library, or owes fines of more than $5 at any OSL library. Each library may also determine charges for lost or damaged material. Lost cards will be replaced for $1. You should inquire about specific circulation policies when using a different library. Library cards expire every two years – upon renewal please update address, telephone numbers and any other information that has changed. Children under 12 years must have parent or guardian with then to update information.
You may borrow items from any OSL public library by either visiting that library yourself, or by having your local library obtain the materials for you or requesting items online.
OSL cards are available to Rhode Island residents free of charge. Non residents may purchase a full use card for $125 or a local use only card for $25.
Proof of identity with photo and current address is required. Valid types of identification include, but aren't restricted to, such items as:
Rental leases or receipts
Utility bill or receipt
Children under 16 years of age
Parent or guardian must be present to obtain a library card and show proof of address. The card can then be used to check out library materials. You must have your library card with you to borrow materials. You are responsible for all items checked out on your card.
Rhode Island Residents
Acceptable ID includes driver’s license, car registration, utility bill, lease, checks or cancelled personal mail.
Residents of other states who currently attend a college or school in Rhode Island full-time. (Acceptable proof includes student ID, course schedule, or bill.)
Residents of other states who are employed full-time in Rhode Island. (Acceptable proof includes recent pay stub, tax receipt.)
Replacement fee for a lost Ocean State Libraries card is $1.
Three weeks for all books, audiobooks and digital download titles.
One week for DVD, video, music CD titles and magazines.
Materials may be renewed in person, by telephone or via the online catalog.
10 cents per day per book. $1.00 per day per item for videos, & CD's. Maximum $10.00 per item. Patrons may pay their fines by logging onto the online catalog.
Patrons may view and renew their checked out materials, as well as pay library fines via the online catalog.
Patrons must bring the library card on which they placed the hold in order to pick up the hold item.
An Ocean State Libraries card may be obtained for $125 if you want full access to the libraries features. An Ocean State Libraries local use only card may be attained which has restrictions and allows for books to be borrowed from the Tiverton Library only for $25 a year.
Return boxes are available for patrons' convenience inside of library and in the drive-thru. A book drop is located outside of Union Library as well.